Too much time away

You can’t imagine how things can fall by the wayside when you’ve signed yourself up for too many projects. It has been 10 years since I started this blog and I had hoped to write on this more than I have but I’m still grasping the nuances of what my new position entails. I had a lot of preconceived notions. I had been told there will be 3 types of people around you:

1) Those that see you become a Laurel and hate you for it. There’s always someone who feels they deserve it more than you and I’m sure there are those who are already Laurels that feel my name added has “cheapened” the Order. If those individuals are out there, I haven’t heard them yet. They probably won’t say it directly to me.

2) Those that see you become a Laurel and adore you for it. These are the individuals who are probably newer and don’t know you really well. They feel what you say must be law. This can be dangerous because they hang on your every word and a discouraging statement can make or break their SCA experience.

3) Those that were your friends before and are still your friends now and don’t really see that anything has changed. If anything they make fun of you for being called Master/Mistress/(other title of choice). This group probably has the most clarity because they know you are still as fallible as you were before. If they are really good friends they shouldn’t be afraid to keep you in check and letting your new title go to your head. Remember, at the end of the day it’s still 6 bucks for a small coffee at Starbucks for you and everyone else that walks in.

Regardless, you now have a responsibility to work at this title. I recently taught 2 classes at a local garb schola. One on making 14th century doublets and another on period hosen using a tree method. These aren’t huge classes and they aren’t in my direct venue of expertise but it’s something I’ve known how to do for many years. It seems like common knowledge to me but there was a lot of insight by people who attended the classes. Everyone who attended either/both class, walked away with a basic pattern to make hosen or a double for themselves. I look forward to seeing how they turn out.

Another thing that happened this past year at Great NorthEastern War was that I took an apprentice. You may have heard that Laurels/Pelicans/Chiv/MOD have a waiting period of about 1 year after they are elevated to a Peerage. This is a convenient myth that a lot of people take advantage of. That’s fine, sometimes after you’ve been working hard on obtaining something, you need a little vacation to relax and focus on what’s next. Since the Peerage happened in Nov of 2021, I felt that 8 months was enough time. I had known Lord Spyridon Tou Nkrizou Lykou for a good long time before my Peerage as a student and felt it was time for a formal apprenticeship arrangement. He was in agreement and a contract was written up. So I now have an apprentice of my own who has proven himself worthy. Going forward I will attempt to guide him in his path to becoming a Laurel as well. He’s got a bit of a way to go yet.

I am unsure if I want another apprentice at this time. Don’t let that discourage you if you’re looking for an apprenticeship. I just don’t know if I can handle 2 at this time but it’s early yet. I may just delay the process a bit.

Another thing that has happened was that suddenly, my opinion seemed to matter to people. Not that I was ignored before but I have had a lot of people who started in brewing and ask my opinion on how to make their brew better. I was elated to hear that one of those individuals who had asked me for a bit of advice on occassion had actually succeeded in becoming the new Kingdom A&S champion. He participated in the Pentathalon including his mead research paper on Rhodomel (Rose Mead/ Mead made with rose petals/hips). He thanked me for my guidance but it was only a few recommendations for him to try. Never-the-less, he applied his new knowledge and came out on top. I had a very happy moment when I heard that.

More later on as it occurs.

Leave a comment